Spanish Chicken with Pumpkin and Potatoes.

Who says browsing food blogs is self-inflicted torture? Sometimes, it really pays off. Such as Sunday, the 4th of Nov, when I finally tried out Nigella Layson’s Spanish Chicken with Chorizo and Potatoes! In my version, I changed the chorizos to pumpkins, inspired by my friend, Phoebe’s simple yet mouth-watering pumpkin dish.

It was scary, taking up this dish. If you know me well enough, you know that cooking is not my forte. Every single time I use the stove, my food gets burnt. I mean Literally Every. Single. Time. Even if it’s a simple omelet or a sunny side-up, it ALL gets burnt. I guess I only decided to go ahead with this dish because, well, I was using the Oven, not the stove. Surely it’ll turn out fine.

The dish was really simple actually. All I had to do was rub the chicken thighs with salt,Image

 dump in the chopped pumpkin slices and half-potatoes,Image add more salt, sugar, oregano (I just used some ground allspice), chopped onions and grated lemon or orange for flavouring. I used the lemon juice by accident, so the dish turned out with wayyyy more juice than I expected. That made the pumpkins soft rather than hard and solid like the baked pumpkin I had been craving for. But, that’s alright. It still tasted great! -cross my heart-Image

As you can see, the dish is Slightly burnt. Why the contrast between the pictures above and below? I put the tray into the oven for another 15 minutes in hope of getting that delicious roasted, golden-brown look. It got much too brown, but that’s okay. It was a good first try. (Forgive the blurred photo, I’m still trying to get used to using my iPhone)Image

Luckily, the chicken didn’t get too dry, nor were the potatoes. The pumpkins, as seen below, were wet but that moistness was rather welcomed. It added a difference in texture that was highly appreciated in this dish. Despite the sparse seasoning, the dish was surprisingly flavourful and playful on the taste buds. With a zest of sourness, added to the sweetness of the pumpkin, including the earthy and full/solid taste of the chicken and potatoes, I would say that, yes, this dish was a success.

Image

 

Hope this dish was a sight for sore eyes! Hit me up with some suggestions as to what to make next week. May your eyes be tantalised next Sunday!

 

Love,

Aziel.

Leave a Reply

