If There Is Ever A Day

If there is ever a day
When you find you cannot speak,
When you have lost control of your tongue,
When you have lost your teeth.
Know that I’ll be your mouthpiece.

I’ll read your hand gestures
And be your translator.
I’ll hear your grunts and whines
And speak for your behaviour.

If there is ever a day
When you lose your mind,
When you know not reality versus fantasy,
When of your memories you cannot find.
Know that I will be your diary.

I’ll tell you the story of our first date,
I’ll tell you the story of your proposal.
I’ll read to you the fairytale of our wedding day.
Even if you don’t recognize them, I hope you will smile.

If there is ever a day
When you forget me,
When you forget you
And you forget we,
Know that I will still be in love with you.

I will flirt and be coy to get your attention.
I will set us candle-light date nights.
I will write love letters and place them around the house for you to find.
Above all, I will lay in bed and let us fall in love again and again, day after day.

Because life with you is a never-ending love story.

Tagged ,

Leave a Reply

