Working a job you hate

I took an 8 months Marketing internship, thinking it was the best alternative since I was but a lowly English Literature Major. Beyond education, I thought I had no other hope of a career, so into marketing I went.

I hated it.

Fast forward to 2016 and I kept searching for Government jobs, but as a result of the depression and anxiety from the previous year, I couldn’t join a lot of governmental jobs. After being rejected multiple times, i started looking at private firms, specifically in the Marketing sector. It was desperation and loss of hope I guess. 

After a week of interviews that amounted to nothing, plus growing self disgust at trying to pursue marketing when I knew jack shit, I took up a job that promised to give me only writing roles, aka writing Newsletters and blog posts for the company. I told the boss I knew nothing about marketing so I couldn’t do it and they promised to find someone to handle it.

I went in in the first week of September, including the last few days of August, and in the first 2 days I was given all tasks by the intern before she flew home. afeet that first week, i had chronic diarrhea with bleeding for about 3 weeks to a month.

Now, it’s nearly two months in. We just finished a huge event that took about 3 weeks to prepare which was way too little time. I had to work the entire weekend with no pay.
The body broke down and now I’m home with bloody stools and an anus dripping blood, plus a short fainting spell.

I need out. 

I can feel the depression starting to set in. With a boss that pushes blame, gives tasks last minute, is vague about your projects, your roles, unappreciative, rude and never pays you on time, plus the fact that I truly dislike marketing because I can’t understand how to reach out to people and convince them to buy our products and engage in our services, this is truly shitty.

Sure I get to meet very interesting people in this job and I’ve learnt that I’m great at networking/ PR but the cons outweigh the pros. I’m literally bleeding. 
Wish me all the best, my darling readers, because I’ve got an HR job interview tomorrow. May it go well so I can work no more than 44 hours a week, no weekends, clear job roles and have time to live a life.

Tagged , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

